Public Safety Commission

The Public Safety Commission was established by Ordinance No. 1010, approved on April 26, 2022, City Council meeting. The Public Safety Commission consists of seven voting members appointed by the City Council, comprised of four residents and three members of our business community. The Public Safety Commission will facilitate community efforts to organize, promote, advocate, and participate in public safety matters concerning public safety, including understanding police and fire operations, crime prevention, and emergency preparedness to enhance public safety and improve the quality of life in Rosemead. The City Council appoints commissioners to serve staggered two-year terms.

Public Safety Commission meetings are held on the fourth Thursday of the month, at 7:00 p.m., in the Rosemead Council Chamber, CLICK HERE to view Agendas.


Activities of the Public Safety Commission include but are not limited to:

  • Serving as an advisory body to the City Council and staff on public safety efforts;

  • To advise on other related items as assigned by the City Council;

  • Receive and review crime incidents and trends provided by LASD and Public Safety Department for recommendation to the City Council;

  • Receive and review staff recommendations on emergency preparedness (e.g., earthquake, heatwaves, any additional emergency preparedness) information for recommendation to the City Council;

  • Participate in the efforts of the Community Academy;

  • Receive and provide homeless encampment issues for recommendation to the City Council;

  • Receive and provide crime prevention and public awareness programs and events for recommendation to the City Council;

  • Make recommendations to the City Council regarding policies and services related to public safety; and

  • Provide the City Council with a Year-End Review Recommendation Report.

Public Safety Commissioners:

  Amy Wu, Business Community Member, Chair  July 2022 - June 2024
 Jeff Foutz, Resident, Vice-Chair  July 2023 - June 2025
 Stephanie Garcia, Resident  July 2023 - June 2025
 Liz Fonseca, Resident  July 2022 - June 2024
 Tommy Martinez, Resident  July 2023 - June 2025
 Sarah Kuang, Business Community Member  July 2023 - June 2025
 Yin Yin Ta, Business Community Member  July 2023 - June 2024

For more information on the Public Safety Commission, please contact Jennifer Pineda at [email protected].